Happy Birthday Disneyland

amdisneyland

Disneyland celebrates its 60th birthday today! I whipped up the mermaid tribute above in honor of today… get it, whipped up? If you don’t know about Dole Whip, don’t worry, that post is coming soon! Anyway, the park officially opened its gates on July 17th, 1955. She’s lookin’ pretty good for 60, don’t you think? Disneyland has been and continues to be a huge source of inspiration to me and my artwork, and it even gave me my first job, as a pirate. I love looking through old photos of the park and I have found myself down the rabbit hole of vintage Disneyland memorabilia on eBay and Etsy many times. If you ever feel like losing a large chunk of your life in the best way possible, this Flickr set only has about a kajillion amazing vintage Disneyland photos. I have plenty more links where that came from to be shared in future posts.

In other news, the Atomic Mermaid Shop has finally been reborn from my old Etsy shop. I am in the process of dreaming up some lovely new items. If there’s anything that you would especially like to see, I would love to know! Also, you can now find the Atomic Mermaid on Twitter and Facebook!

etsysoonb

Leave a Reply

